Like Two Peas in a Pod

Standard

Topic of the week #1

Social Media and I are like two peas in a pod. Where you can find social media, you can also find me. Whether it’s Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, or iTunes Podcasts, I’m there experiencing it all.

Photo Credit: Lilyraz

The great thing about social media is that it allows you to experience the world on a completely new level. It’s opens doors for you to make connections that would never be possible in normal circumstances.

Twitter: the great thing about Twitter is the ability it gives you to follow those who carry the “celebrity” status. Do you have a favorite actor, singer, author, or even pastor? 9 times out of 10 you can find them on Twitter and follow them. By “follow” I mean stay up-to-date on what they are doing, where they are going, etc.

Facebook: personally this is my favorite social media type. It’s very personable and the amount of information you share with others is completely up to you. If you want to be completely open you can allow anyone to view your information. Or if you want to be less open, you can decide who is allowed to see what information you post. It’s also a great way to get to know people because of its ability to express who you are as an individual on such a deep level.

WordPress: Have you ever had one of those moments where something comes to your mind that you just have to share? You can’t post it on your Facebook because it would be obnoxiously long and you don’t bother trying to Tweet it cause it would never fit. The solution is to blog about it! When something is rolling around on my heart and I feel like rambling, I head toward my WordPress blog and share my thoughts.

iTunes Podcast: I love podcasts on iTunes! I can’t tell you how many podcasts I have watched or listened to over the past few years. Trust me, the number would probably shock you. I use iTunes podcasts to watch sermons and teachings by my favorite christian pastors and speakers. It’s so nice to get in bed after a long day, turn on your computer, and play a podcast completely for free! It’s also nice because I can download the podcasts onto my iPod and take them with me wherever I go!

If you currently aren’t using social media, I strongly encourage you to do so. It’s a great way to build relationships and also broaden your horizons. It’s also very user-friendly. It may take time at first to get use to it but in the long run it will be worth it!

If you love social media just as much as me and use other forms of social media that I didn’t mention please leave a comment and tell me about it! I’m always looking for something new and fun to try!

-Sarah Rose

2 responses »

  1. Social media can be lots of fun. I used to be really bad about getting on FB all the time and I’ve really cut down the time I spend on there recently. I feel like, as college students, we tend to waste a lot of time on social media sites, so I try not to get too involved. BUT, Pinterest is the newest social media site that I have gotten myself involved in, and I love it. I don’t know if you’ve been on it, but I have found it to be enjoyable, it is also very easy to waste time on. I think it’s more of a girly site but hey, we’re girls. Check it out!

  2. Pingback: Comment Posts « Tiana Holding

Leave a Reply

