“You say tomato, I say tomahto!”

Standard

Topic of the week #3

Photo Credit: Marthastewart.com

When visiting Mignon Fogarty’s Grammar Girl’s website, I came across a lot of information about grammar that use to always confuse me. Grammar has never been my cup of tea because it always scared me. However, after searching through some of Grammar Girl’s blogs, I developed a new understanding of grammar and learned that grammar doesn’t have to be a scary thing…

The first blog I read was titled, “A vs An”

It can be tricky knowing when to use “A or An” in a sentence and often times people make mistakes by putting one instead of the other. Sometimes what sounds right to your ear isn’t what is grammatically correct.

Grammar girl remedied this situation with offering a simple rule to follow:

Rule: “… you use abefore words that start with a consonant sound and an before words that start with a vowel sound.”

The next blog that I read was about “Who vs. Whom.”

This is another area of grammar that use to trouble me but the Grammar Girl website put it in simple terms that I was able to grasp!

Rule: “You use who when you are referring to the subject of a clause and whom when you are referring to the object of a clause.”

I have learned many things from Grammar Girl’s website but the last thing I will blog about is the blog on “A while vs. Awhile”

Before reading this blog, I always interchanged these two words without much thought. I didn’t know there was grammatical rules about when to use each of these words.

Rule: “A while” is a time, a noun. The article “a” before “while” is a sure sign that you’re dealing with a noun.”

ex: “It’s been a while since Squiggly tried Marmite.”

Rule: “Awhile” means “for a time” and it’s an adverb.”

ex: “Go play awhile.”

As you can see there is a simple rule to follow when contemplating whether you use “awhile or a while,” in a sentence and the rule is very simple and easy to remember!

I hope this post has calmed and cooled some of your fears about grammar. Grammar can be a scary thing if you let it be. Decide today to take control over that fear and learn from one of the best sources on grammar: Mignon Fogarty’s Grammar girl website!

-Sarah Rose

Leave a Reply

